Member Sign In

Member Sign In

Annual Awards Dinner 2008

Blair Brown received the Herreshoff Award from NYYC Commodore Charles H. Townsend at the Annual Awards Dinner on Thursday, November 6. This trophy was given by Captain Nathanael Herreshoff in April 1926. The permanent trophy is a tablet retained by the club and inscribed each year. A suitable medal is awarded to the yacht -- in this case Brown's Sforzando -- winning the most points in the class selected by the Flag Officers that has shown the most interesting and instructive racing during the season.

Charles Townsend, commodore of the NYYC, left, congratulates Zbynek Zak. Zak's schooner Eleonora won her class in the Queen's Cup, a number of Squadron Runs and the Titania Cup 1889.Dan Nerney photos.

Stuart C. Saffer, skipper of Sundari, receives the Queen's Cup from Commodore Townsend. This trophy was given by Queen Elizabeth II of England.The Queen’s Cup is a perpetual trophy to be raced for annually under the same conditions as the preceding King’s Cup races.The Queen's Cup is competed for during the Annual Cruise.

Will and Marie Crump.

L-R, Commodore Townsend, Christopher Malloy, Rear Commodore Robert C. Towse Jr., John Hayes andPeter Cummiskey.

Roland Singer and Monique Roeder.

L-R,Phil and Wendy Lotz, Tom Harrington, Chris Lotz and Kathryn Bache. The Lotz's NYYC Swan 42 Arethusa won its class in the 154th Annual Regatta, presented by Rolexand its class in the Astor Cup, during the Annual Cruise. Tom Harrington has been nominated as the next NYYC Rear Commodore.

Roxanne Leighton, left, and Ingrid Flynn.

Blair Brown, left, receives the Herreshoff Medal -- the highest racing award at the NYYC. This is the third time boats belonging to Brown have won the Herreshoff Medal.