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Q&A #1 - LUFFING WITH SPINNAKERS  

 

 

 

Question  

Two keelboats B and Y are on a run in strong winds with spinnakers set.  Rule 17 does not apply.  

B luffs continuously and Y keeps clear.  After Y becomes sailing above a beam reach and is healing 

well over with her spinnaker trimmed all the way, she holds course and drops her spinnaker. There 

is no contact. B bears away and protests. What should the call be? 

 

Answer  

No penalty.   

When B changes course, she is required to give Y room to keep clear, which includes space to 

manoeuvre promptly in a seamanlike way. In positions 1 and 2, Y is keeping clear. In position 3, 

it becomes seamanlike for Y to drop her spinnaker. Y continues keeping clear because she is still 

responding in a seamanlike way to B’s change of course. This includes dropping her spinnaker 

before luffing any higher.  By bearing away at position 4, B gives Y room to keep clear, as required 

by rule 16.1. 

 

See also Team Race Call A3.  

 

Room for a windward boat to keep clear includes room to drop her spinnaker when it becomes 

unseamanlike to keep it hoisted.  In lighter winds, it may be seamanlike for a boat to sail closer 

to the wind with her spinnaker hoisted 


