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  Supplement 2018 

Summary of Changes 
 
 

Call Subject 
Reason 

E5 
Amended 

Exoneration when compelled to hit a mark 
For consistency with new call J9 

E8 
Amended 

When tacking at a port-hand windward mark 
For consistency with new call J9 

G4 
Amended 

Proper course beyond layline to leeward mark 
Clarify call and extend its scope 

H2 
Amended 

When has mark-room been given 
For consistency with new call J9 

H5 
New 

When has mark-room been given 
Clarify new words in rule 18.2(d) 

J9 
New 

Rules when a boat is denied mark-room at leeward mark 
Rapid response call 2017-001 

L2 
Deleted 

Interfering when taking a penalty 
Delete call which no longer answers the question 

M7 
Amended 

Taking a penalty when OCS and returning to start 
Correct drafting errors in question and answer 1. 

M11 
Amended 

Umpire action when no protest after a boat hits a mark 
For consistency with new call J9 

 



Section E – The Windward Mark  Supplement 2018 

TR CALL  E5 
 
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped 
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room  
Rule 21 Exoneration 
Rule 64.1(a) Penalties and Exoneration 
 
 
Question 
 
Y reaches the zone of a starboard-hand windward mark clear ahead of B and 
slightly above the layline. Both boats are on port tack. The next leg is a beam 
reach. Y stops with her bow 1½ lengths to windward of, and level with, the 
mark. B, on the port tack layline, tries to sail between Y and the mark. However, 
Y bears away below her proper course and there is no longer space for B to pass 
between Y and the mark. B makes contact with Y and the mark and protests. 
What should the call be? 

 
       

  
Answer 
 
Penalize Y.  
 
When Y enters the zone she is clear ahead of B and is entitled to mark-room 
under rule 18.2(b). Mark-room includes room for Y to round the mark as 
necessary to sail her course and, when B becomes overlapped inside her, rule 
18.2(c)(2) requires that B also gives Y room to sail her proper course. B does so 
and complies with rules 18.2(b) and (c). 
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After B becomes overlapped to leeward of Y, Y is required to keep clear. She 
fails to do so and breaks rule 11. She is not entitled to exoneration under rule 
21(a) because she is not sailing her proper course or within the mark-room to 
which she is entitled.  
 
B breaks rule 31 but was compelled to touch the mark as a consequence of Y’s 
breach of rule 11.  Exonerate B under rule 64.1(a). 
  



Section E – The Windward Mark  Supplement 2018 

TR CALL E8  
 
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped 
Rule 18.3 Tacking in the Zone 
Rule 21 Exoneration 
 

 
Question 1 
 
Y enters the zone of a port hand windward mark clear ahead of B.  Both  boats 
are on starboard tack.  X approaches on port tack and tacks in the zone to 
leeward of Y and clear ahead of B.  When B establishes an overlap to leeward of 
X, X is then unable to give mark-room to B because of the presence of Y.  B 
makes contact with X and the mark.  B protests.  What should the call be? 

Answer 1 
 
Penalize X and B. 
 
Y on starboard reaches the zone clear ahead of B and B must give her mark-
room under rule 18.2(b).  When X passes head to wind from port to starboard 
tack in the zone she is then fetching the mark.  B and Y have been on starboard 
tack since entering the zone, so rule 18.3 applies (and not rule 18.2) between X 
and Y and between X and B.  When B becomes overlapped inside X, X is 
required to give B mark-room and to keep clear of her.  X does neither and 
breaks rules 11 and 18.3.  



Section E – The Windward Mark  Supplement 2018 

 
When overlapped inside X, B is sailing within the mark-room to which she is 
entitled. However, when B touches the mark, she breaks rule 31 and is not 
exonerated under rule 21(b) as she is not compelled to touch it.  At position 3, 
when it becomes clear that X is not giving mark-room, B is still able to avoid the 
mark in a seamanlike way by passing it on the wrong side. 
 
Question 2 

The situation is the same except that after position 3 B bears away and passes 
the mark on the wrong side.  What should the call be? 

Answer 2 
 
Penalize X only. 
  
As in Question 1, rule 18.3 applies between X and B.  When B becomes 
overlapped inside X, she is entitled to mark-room which X fails to give, 
breaking rule 18.3.  B breaks no rule. 
 
 
A boat is exonerated under rule 21(b) only if she is sailing within the room or 
mark-room to which she is entitled and, from the time it becomes clear that 
room is not being given, she is unable to avoid the mark in a seamanlike way.  
  



Section G – The Run  Supplement 2018 

TR Call G4 
 

Rule 17  On the Same Tack; Proper Course 
Definition  Proper Course 
 
 
Question 1 
 
On a downwind leg, B and Y are overlapped on the same tack; B is subject to 
rule 17. B's course to finish as soon as possible is to gybe to sail in the direction 
of the next mark. Y protests. What should the call be? 

 
Answer 1 
 
Rule 17 requires that B does not sail above her proper course. B must bear away 
no later than when necessary to finish as soon as possible in the absence of Y. 
When she delays beyond this point, she breaks rule 17 by sailing above her 
proper course. Penalize B. 
 
However, if there is doubt whether or not B has reached the point where she 
must bear away to finish as soon as possible, she is still on a proper course; no 
penalty. 
 
Question 2 
 
As question 1 except that B bears away to a run but does not gybe. Y protests. 
What should the call be? 
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Answer 2 
 
Penalize B. B is still sailing above her proper course and breaks rule 17. 
 
 
On a downwind leg, a boat is sailing above her proper course when her proper 
course is to bear away, even if this requires her to gybe. 



Section H – The Gybe Mark  Supplement 2018 

TR Call H2 
 
Rule 15 Acquiring Right of Way 
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room 
Rule 21 Exoneration 
Rule 31 Touching a Mark 
 
 
Question 
Three boats B, X, and Y are approaching an off-wind mark to be left to 
starboard. The proper course after the mark is a broad reach on port tack. Rule 
17 does not apply to B. When B reaches the zone, Y is clear astern. When Y is 
alongside the mark, B bears away and gybes to prevent Y from passing between 
her and the mark. Y touches B and the mark and protests. What should the call 
be? 

 

 
 
Answer 
Penalize B. 
 
When B reaches the zone she is clear ahead of Y who is required thereafter to 
give B mark-room.  When Y establishes an inside overlap, she shall also give B 
room to sail her proper course.  Y does so and does not break rule 18.2(b) or (c).   
 
When B gybes she must initially give Y room to keep clear; she fails to do so 
and breaks rule 15.  After position 4, B is not entitled to exoneration under rule 
21(a) because she is no longer sailing her proper course or within the mark-room 
to which she is entitled.  Y is exonerated under rule 21(a) for breaking rule 10 
and under rule 21(b) because she was compelled to break rule 31.  
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TR CALL H5 
 
Definition Mark-Room 
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room 
Rule 21 Exoneration 
 
 
Question 
 
Y on port tack is clear ahead of B on starboard tack when Y enters the zone of a 
port hand leeward mark.  Y sails to leeward of the mark and turns onto her 
course to the next mark before position 3.  B holds her course until, just before 
position 4, she luffs to avoid Y.  B protests.  What should the call be? 
 

Answer 
 
No penalty. 
 
Mark-room includes "room to leave a mark on the required side".  If a boat is 
still approaching a mark, or is passing a mark, she is still in the process of 
leaving it on the required side.   
 
Y is clear ahead of B when she enters the zone and rule 18.2(b) requires B to 
give Y mark-room thereafter.  When Y is at position 4, mark-room has not yet 
been fully given, so rule 18.2(b) still applies and rule 18.2(d) does not. B gives 
Y mark-room and room for Y to sail her proper course as required by rule 
18.2(c)(2).  B breaks no rule. 
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At positions 3 and 4 Y is sailing her proper course so she is sailing within the 
room to which she is entitled from B. Exonerate Y under rule 21(a) for breaking 
rule 10 with B. 
 
When a boat rounds a mark wide, especially an off-wind mark, her proper 
course may cease to be close to the mark before she has left the mark on the 
required side. In such a case rule 18.2(b) still applies but the mark-room to 
which she is entitled no longer includes room to sail to the mark. 
 
 



Section J – The Leeward Mark  Supplement 2018 

TR CALL J9 
 
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped 
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room 
Rule 21 Exoneration 
Rule 31 Touching a Mark 
 
 
Question 1 
 
X enters the zone at a leeward mark to be left to port clear ahead of A and Y. X 
slows down to leeward of the mark in an attempt to trap A outside of her and let 
teammate Y pass A. There is contact between all three boats and Y hits the 
mark. Y protests. What should the call be? 
 

 
 
Answer 1    
 
Penalize A and Y. 
 
Although Y breaks rule 11 (against A) she is exonerated as she is sailing within 
the mark-room to which she is entitled from A.  Y hits the mark but she cannot 
be exonerated for breaking rule 31 as she could have passed the wrong side of 
the mark in a seamanlike way and was not compelled to hit it.  Y also breaks 
rule 18.2(b) as she failed to give mark-room to X. 
 
A breaks rules 11 (against X) and 18.2(b) against both X and Y.  In no case is 
she entitled to exoneration. 
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Although X is an obstruction to A and Y, rule 19 does not apply (see rule 
19.1(b)). 
 
Question 2 
 
If Y sails the wrong side of the mark to avoid a multiple collision, would the call 
be the same? 
 
Answer 2 
 
No.  Penalize A only.  Y breaks no rule. 



Section L – Other Rules  Supplement 2018 

TR CALL L2 
 
Rule 24.2 Interfering with Another Boat 
 
 
 
CALL DELETED 
 



Section M – The Umpiring Process  Supplement 2018 

TR CALL M7 
 

Rule 44.2 One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties  
Rule D1.3(a) Penalties, Taking a Voluntary Penalty 
Rule D2.2(f) Umpired Races: Penalty Description 
Rule D2.3(f) Penalties Initiated by Umpires: Fails to take a Penalty 
Rule D2.4(b) Signals by an Umpire, Penalty 
 
 
At the start of a race, B is OCS and has been given a two-turns penalty under 
rule D2.2(f). B immediately bears away, gybes and tacks, but then sails towards 
the pin end of the starting line before she again bears away, gybes around the 
mark and then tacks. 
 
Question 1 
Has B taken her penalty correctly? 
 
Answer 1 
No. Rule 44.2 requires B to make two turns promptly and in the same direction. 
By breaking away after the first turn and sailing to a different area, B has not 
promptly taken a Two-Turns Penalty. Therefore she has not complied with rule 
44.2.  
 
Question 2 
What action should the umpire take? 
 
Answer 2 
Boat B failed to take the penalty in accordance with rule 44.2. Therefore, she has 
not complied with rule D2.2(f). Under rule D2.3(f), an umpire may now initiate 
a penalty without a protest from another boat. In this case it is correct to do so. 
The umpire could either give another Two-Turns Penalty by signalling under 
rule D2.4(b), or, when appropriate, signal under rule D2.4(b) and at the same 
time hailing the boat 'One-Turn Penalty'.  
 
Question 3 
Would the procedures be the same if B had not been given a penalty by the 
umpire, but rather attempted to take a voluntary penalty, except that the penalty 
did not comply with rule 44.2? 
 
Answer 3 
No.  The boat has been protested and no boat has taken a penalty.  Rule D2.2(c) 
applies and, as the boat has broken a rule (see first paragraph above), the umpire 
shall penalize her under rule D2.2(f).  See also call M9. 
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TR CALL M11 
 
Rule 21   Exoneration 
Rule D2.2   Protests by Boats 
Rule D2.3(a)  Penalties Initiated by Umpires 
 
 
Question 
 
Y is overlapped on the inside of B when B enters the zone of a mark to be 
rounded to port. The umpires agree that Y touched the mark.  No boat protests 
and no boat takes a penalty. What action should the umpires take? 
 
 

 
 
Answer 
 
If Y could have avoided contact with the mark in a seamanlike way, umpires 
should act under rule D2.3(a) and penalize Y for breaking rule 31. Otherwise 
exonerate Y under rule 21(b) and make no signal.  See also calls E8 and J9. 
 
B cannot be penalized under rule D2.2 because no boat protested. 
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